Result of opening classic prologue

by stumps   January 20, 2013  

Griepel followed by Goss and then Henderson.

The first World Tour event post the Lance Armstrong interview got underway in Adelaide tonight with Lotto Belisol rider Andre Greipel winning the Tour Down Under Classic prologue.

The shakedown included a 51km criterium near the Adelaide Botanic Gardens, made up of 30 laps of a 1.7km circuit.

German rider Jens Voight (Radioshack Leopard Trek), the oldest competitor in the race at 41, and Australian Zakkary Dempster, riding for the UniSA Australia team, made the early break with Dempster taking all four primes on offer during the first 20 laps, along withabout $AUS2500 in prize money.

The pair managed to avoid the chasing bunch until the final third of the race when the peloton came back together and roared its way around the final nine laps to the finish.

Greipel's team mates fought to set up the prologue win as Orica GreenEDGE tried to get their man Matt Goss into position, but in the end it was the German who won by just over a bike length from Goss

8 user comments

Oldest firstNewest firstBest rated

Looks like Griepel is up for it, might have to change my team slightly Thinking

There are no stupid questions, just stupid people.

posted by stumps [3237 posts]
20th January 2013 - 11:26


You beat me to it stumps, ive been waiting all morning for the top 10

so here it is

1 André Greipel (Ger) Lotto Belisol 1:04:00
2 Matthew Harley Goss (Aus) Orica GreenEdge
3 Gregory Henderson (NZl) Lotto Belisol
4 Boy Van Poppel (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM
5 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Sky Procycling
6 Davide Cimoali (Ita) Lampre-Merida
7 Steele Von Hoff (Aus) Garmin Sharp
8 Jose Rojas Gil (Spa) Movistar
9 Anthony Giacoppo (Aus) UniSA-Australia
10 Yauheni Hutarovich (Blr) Ag2r La Mondiale

Gonna tweek my team now

posted by TERatcliffe26 [4524 posts]
20th January 2013 - 11:49


1 GREIPEL,A LottoBelisol
2 GOSS,M OricaGreenEDGE
3 HENDERSON,G LottoBelisol
4 VANPOPPEL,B Vacansoleil-DCM
5 BOASSONHAGEN,E SkyProcycling
6 CIMOLAI,D Lampre-Merida
7 VONHOFF,S GarminSharp
8 ROJASGIL,JJ Movistar
11 LOBATO,JJ EuskaltelEuskadi
12 MARKUS,B Vacansoleil-DCM
13 FENN,A OmegaPharma-Quick-Step
16 PHELAN,A UNISA-Australia
17 FARRAR,T GarminSharp
18 PINEAU,J OmegaPharma-Quick-Step
19 ROWE,L SkyProcycling
20 RENSHAW,M Blanco
21 STEEGMANS,G OmegaPharma-Quick-Step
22 KITTEL,M Argos-Shimano
23 ROELANDTS,J LottoBelisol
25 KERBY,J UNISA-Australia
26 VAN HUMMEL,K Vacansoleil-DCM
27 CANTWELL,J Saxo-Tinkoff
28 DEKORT,K Argos-Shimano
29 AGOSTINI,S Cannondale
30 ABERASTURI,J EuskaltelEuskadi

Vive Le Fantasy Cycling Game!

posted by enrique [2317 posts]
20th January 2013 - 14:21


posted by TERatcliffe26 [4524 posts]
20th January 2013 - 14:21


Greipel won relatively easily with an awesome sprint train but bizarrely this means I've rejected Hansen for the TDU if he's here to do the Gorilla's work,Voigt looks like he's in his usual cantankerous mood and will probably get in a few breaks this week and youngster VanHoff looks like he's a threat in the flat finishes,especially if Garmin abandon thoughts of the overall now Dennis is out.

Might have to rethink on Fenn.....Cimolai instead perhaps?

What happened to Demare,Ferrari,Guardini and Apollonio?

posted by ray silvester [1867 posts]
20th January 2013 - 14:35


Ive go Fenn in for stage 1, no Demare or Guardini for me as I think they will get dropped on stage 2

posted by TERatcliffe26 [4524 posts]
20th January 2013 - 14:54


Will Steele Vanhoff get the nod in the sprints for Garmin or will Farrar still be top dog?

Farrar has been poor for a couple of years but is consistently there or there abouts in the sprints. He seems too scared to really contest the finish against te big guns but he might still be Garmin's first choice.

posted by drheaton [3429 posts]
20th January 2013 - 18:14


Im hoping von Hoff is the choice, its his home race, so thats what im hoping

posted by TERatcliffe26 [4524 posts]
20th January 2013 - 18:29