Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Carbon Seat Post in Alloy Frame??

Hi, newbie here looking for some advice.

I have an alloy bike that I am using for commuting and winter training rides, and I also have a carbon road bike that is currently in hibernation.

I am looking at some upgrades primarily for the alloy bike. I had thought that I might get a carbon seat post and new saddle, the idea being that I could then swap the set post over when the better weather comes along.

However, I have came across a comment on anther site saying that carbon posts should not be used on alloy, due to corrosion and slippage.

Can anybody confirm that this is the case?

Thanks

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

11 comments

jimmo62 | 11 years ago
0 likes

You could use the carbon fibre grip paste if the post slips, I assume that is what it is designed for.... I have used it in the past. However if you can get away without it seems that from the above posts the manufacturers prefer it.....

Lost faith in t... replied to jimmo62 | 11 years ago
0 likes

we use it on carbon posts in carbon frames but when its aluminium and carbon it sill tends to cause problems with the materials bonding together.

we normally get 2-3 customers a year who have used carbon paste/grease who ask us to try and remove there post for them but there is no chance.

they normally have to go to an engineering firm to get the post reamed out or try some home brew remedies of chemicals which normally make matters worse lol.

therevokid | 11 years ago
0 likes

added bonus of a carbon post in an alloy frame is "buzz"
reduction ...  1

Gman59c | 11 years ago
0 likes

Excellent news, thanks guys!!

I have just ordered a new Fizik Cyrano Carbon post and was looking forward to trying out this weekend.

All systems are go!!

Bedfordshire Clanger | 11 years ago
0 likes