Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Frame Suggestions

Hi everyone. Was just after some advice, I have a 2010 Trek 1.5 road bike, but unfortunately I have damaged the frame and the forks in a crash such that they are now unuseable. As the other components are still fine, I'm looking into getting a new frame and forks which I can transfer the components over to. Does anyone have any suggestions for frames which are suitable? I really need something quite cheap (student budget) but which isn't too difficult to deal with, as I'm no mechanic! A friend suggested kinesis frames, does anyone have any experience with them at entry level?

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

6 comments

Bedfordshire Clanger | 11 years ago
0 likes

The only things that you need to look out for are the bottom bracket size and steerer dimensions. The chances are that a different frame may require a different sized bottom bracket but is is not a problem as they are cheap and easily fitted. Your steerer is likely to be a standard size 1-1/8'' but you should check and you may find that you need more or fewer spacers on the new one. That's all that I can think of. These are standard bits of kit made to fit frames of all manufacturers.

chewie000 | 11 years ago
0 likes

Sorry by third-party I meant anything that isn't a Trek, so including Kinesis and Kaffenbeck. It was just what someone I spoke to about it today suggested would be an issue - I wasn't really sure because, as I said above I don't have much experience with this kind of thing.

Raleigh | 11 years ago
0 likes

What do you mean a 3rd party frame?

I'm pretty sure that the componentry will be transferable.

Why would they transfer onto a Kinesis frame like you wanted, but not a Kaffenback?

chewie000 | 11 years ago
0 likes