Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

German bikes

Following on from my previous post asking about Cube Agree frames I have more questions relating to german bikes. I quiet like the look of Ghost bikes and Canyon Ultimate cf or al, but don't know much about them. Anyone got any experience? My concern with buying from the internet is that I am new to road bikes and don't want to make a stupid and expensive mistake going for one of them when I could just go the easy route and buy a Specialized or Cannondale?

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

7 comments

Super Domestique | 11 years ago
0 likes

My wife has a Focus mtb and it rides very well. Its very xc but that fits the bill for her riding.

It is a few years old now 2008 model bought in 2009 but no problems and it was well specced for the money too.

veseunr | 11 years ago
0 likes

Just to add to mattyb95: If you know at point of ordering that you require a different stem length, they'll do it free of charge.

mattyb95 | 11 years ago
0 likes

Just posted this on my club's forum in response to a similar question. As background to the below, if you were considering a frame only, Canyon do a "sponsorship" price so if you hold a British Racing license you can save €200 or so on the price. Even if you don't plan to race, think it's cheaper that way as a license for a year is less than the discount offered. It's a one off per customer and frame's only.

"Bought myself an Ultimate CF frame in their sale not long ago which was €100 cheaper than their sponsorship discount so worked out about £750 with postage. Not had it long but so far love it, much stiffer and responsive than my old Planet X and seems a better fit.