Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Frame or kit?

What would/should you spend money on when buying a new bike, frame or kit? With this I mean I was looking at a cheap Cervelo S2 @ 2800 which you are pretty much paying for the frame against something like a Cube agree Ui2 at around the same price where the Ui2 is what your paying for.
I'm relatively new to cycling so curious as to where people would sink their hard earned.

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

5 comments

Spooks | 11 years ago
0 likes

Thanks for the comments, kinda what I figured with spend on frame, everything else being secondary.
In deep love with how Cervelo R series look but I simply cant afford/justify that amount on a frame, thus my questioning if the frame is the most important.
This will be my second road bike, and i hope a step up from my current cube attempt, and I just hope that no matter what I end up with I can justify owning it.

Gkam84 | 11 years ago
0 likes

When going for a highend bike. Concentrate on the frame. get something that fits and in comfortable. Parts come and go, can be changed, replaced and upgraded. The frame is the main part on which your bike is build.

So frame everytime. Forget about the groupset it comes with as at those kinda of prices, they have the top two sets away, Ultegra or Dura Ace, unless its a really high end frame and it might be 105. Which is still a good groupo.

_SiD_ | 11 years ago
0 likes

Depends on material possibly.
A titanium or steel frame would unquestionably be a sound 'investment' returning decades worth of riding from one purchase. These materials aren't subject to fashion fads and fashions. Essentially just tubes and triangles. The shape doesn't really change, the detailing and craftsmanship is what sets it apart. update or upgrade kit and it wears out.