Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Gran Fondo di Roma

I have literally just got back on my bike after breaking my left femur at the end of March.

I'm subscribed to do the (first) Gran Fondo di Roma on the 14/10, 145Km (90 miles).

Anyone any training suggestions - what's best to do so I can participate? I don't care what time I finish in, I just want to get round if I can, and 2.5 weeks isn't long to get ready.

If anyone else is participating let me know - I live in Rome, so for me this is on my doorstep.

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

7 comments

Polocini | 11 years ago
0 likes

I ended up bailing out and not going at all due to injury/work. The five weeks off the bike turned into ten and I only started riding again last week.

Good effort Sean. I'm gutted I couldn't do it.

The doping controls are in place because of the prizes on offer. The event is linked to the Gran Fondo New York which had a rider on EPO.

AL

Simon_MacMichael | 11 years ago
0 likes

Well done Sean, funnily enough just this second I was reading the paragraph about it in today's Gazzetta dello Sport and wondered how you'd got on.

(According to the Gazzetta there were targeted doping controls carried out on certain amateurs on the request of judicial authorities...?!)

notfastenough | 11 years ago
0 likes

Great stuff, and not a bad time either. Did you guys meet up? Who dropped who?!  4

NiceGuySean | 11 years ago
0 likes

Al

Would love to meet up, although I suspect you'll be dropping me on the climbs rather than the other way round.

Drop me an email on sperry [@] tiscali.it and we can arrange how to meet. Probably best to meet Sat at some point, as Sunday morning will be chaotic in true Roman style.

Weather forecast for Sunday is currently low of 15˚C, high of 25˚, slightly cloudy. Lets hope it stays that way.

Sean

Polocini | 11 years ago
0 likes