Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Gear ratios and hills - halp

So, I'm new to this road cycling business, having come from MTB, and I'm having a bit of a headache with gear ratios. The bike I've picked up has early 90's Chorus and Mirage kit, 8-speed, and is currently set up with 53/42 on the front, 175mm cranks, and a gnarly 11-21 cassette. I'm reasonably fit but I'm carrying a fair amount of weight for 6ft, and that 42-21 gear isn't cutting it for many of the hills and hillocks around here.

I've just ordered a new 39t chainring and a 13-26 cassette to rectify this, but I'm now having second thoughts about the back. Should I stick to a 12-23 instead? I don't especially want to lose the 12t, especially with such long cranks, and it's hardly mountainous in Norfolk, but I'm used to being able to spin up any hill on a MTB triple and grinding up even small hills is knackering me. Any thoughts?

TL:DR, sacrifice climbing versatility or top speed for new-ish road rider?

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

5 comments

veseunr | 11 years ago
0 likes

53/39 with a 12/25 cassette is really standard but 50/36 (or 34) compact with 11/28 give a bigger top and much smaller bottom. Better unless you need a 90+/-1 cadence and need a cog with 16 teeth!!

TomvanHalen | 11 years ago
0 likes

Thanks folks; I'll do as alihisgreat suggests and just stick the chainring on first, and not worry too much about the 12 cog in any eventuality. I can put off buying a chain whip and lockring tool at least :p

Bedfordshire Clanger | 11 years ago
0 likes