Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

New to racing

As part of my mid-life crisis I am thinking of entering some cycle races. Only ever done one timetrial before (on my road bike) so a complete novice.

I believe I can enter only 4th Cat races and there seem to be some around on British cycling.

I can average 20-21mph on my road bike on a slightly rolling 20 mile course by myself ... am I going to stay with the peloton or is my pace too poor?

Any advice?

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

9 comments

nickobec | 11 years ago
0 likes

Heck just do it. I did, entered my 1st race last Saturday and finished 3rd.

Find your local club and speak to them, I had a friend on another forum, took me down to a club race, introduced me to a couple of people. Joined online, and next race day, turned up with my licence and ratty old steel bike. Got introduced along with another 1st timer to the experienced rider in our E grade race. Asked if I knew what I was doing, I replied 1st 2 laps I sit at the back, watch & learn. 3rd lap help out if I can. 4th lap hang on for dear life and hope to finish in the pack, he just nodded.

A couple of guys went away on the 2nd lap and did not see them until the finish, but everything went to plan, hanging off the back means you use a lot of energy closing gaps, particularly as we lost a couple of riders including the other 1st timer.

I was sitting on the back, when we hit the finally corner with about 2.5km to go, and 2 riders took off, I waited about 3 seconds to see if anybody would follow. Nobody did, so I went after them, caught them, Less than a minute to catch my breath and then we sprinted for the line, I thought I beat one, but on the the official results, I was 3rd by 0.12 seconds.