Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Did I miss the memo? (grumpy cyclist rant)

Today I encountered so many grumpy, miserable or rude cyclists.

Did I miss the memo about it being unfriendly Friday or something!

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

48 comments

kafylou | 12 years ago
0 likes

I'm so relieved to read these comments, I thought it was just me. Ive been cycling on and off for 20+ years but I have certainly noticed it more on this come back. Ive put it down to i'm a women, tubby and not quite conquered clipless yet,but obviously i've been too harsh on myself.I wave and smile to all cyclists geared up, roadie and the odd mountain biker on the way to the woods. If i dont get a response (I dont expect one on a busy road or on a steep hill climb) I now just snigger to myself as I almost feel that me being there has p**** them off. As i qouted on facebook recently "to the 5 people who ignored me this morning, don't panic I don't want to be your best mate I'm just acknowledging we're doing the same thing" I also think its a weekend thing as midweek cyclists are a lot friendlier.

Super Domestique | 12 years ago
0 likes

Interesting comments on weekday v weekend cyclists. Friday was a holiday which means weekenders out rather than the ones I spot in the week. The week day riders have been friendly by comparison. Normally I ride during the week leaving time with the kids at the weekend.

CarbonBreaker | 12 years ago
0 likes

I must've wish a "good morning" to 60plus people yesterday on the long ride I did here in Singapore, all with a nice "good morning" in response... I do try to limit it to one "hello" to groups of cyclists though otherwise it gets silly!