Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Do you face a long commute?

Do you face a long commute every day because you can't afford to live closer to work?

I'm an assistant producer working on a new channel 4 programme about the housing crisis in the uk and would love to hear from you if you face a long commute to work every day because being close to work becomes unaffordable.

Thanks! Any comments much appreciated!

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

18 comments

nickobec | 12 years ago
0 likes

80km round trip or 40km one way (if I work back late, I can that my bike on the train to avoid the 30kmh gusting to 40kmh headwinds).

But I am on the wrong side of the world for your doco. House prices here, Perth Australia, making living close to the city very expensive too.

But with 32.5km of my commute on a cyclepath that crosses one road and running parallel to train line, it is a good way to get to work.

wyadvd | 12 years ago
0 likes

Dunno. I would without hesitation buy a more expensive house if it added 5 miles to my commute though, no question.

SittingDuck | 12 years ago
0 likes

A mediocre 10.5 miles each way for me, from SW20 to EC1 each day. When I moved here from SW11 in January, I had wondered if it would be too far, twice a day, day in - day out but within a week I was used to it and enjoying every minute! Had to move further out when I decided to get a flat by myself, instead of continuing to share. It's simply unaffordable to live alone in zone 2, unless you are on a pretty high salary.

SD

Alex.wall | 12 years ago
0 likes