Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

What Road bike for £1500

Hello

I am looking to get a new road bike. Im fairly new to cycling although have become hooked since starting 9 months ago. Every penny and spare minute has become cycling!

I bought a Genesis Aether 10. I use it for my commute and my runs on my days off; around 25-60 mile (depending on weather, time etc)

I'm now aiming to get a new road bike and relegate the Genesis to my Winter/Glasgow-pot-hole-avoiding-bike.

I cycle between 75-150 miles per week (50 commute) and this is likely to only increase.

I'm looking in the region of £1500 and at this price im lost. Too much choice and too many components to understand for a newbie!! Any advice would help...what to avoid? Value for money? Etc etc

From a purely aesthetic principle i love bikes with a curved top bar and in particular De Rosa, Ribble and Wilier. I will be joining a club and becoming more involved and serious so this bike is intended to last through a more demanding use.

Many thanks for your time.

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

19 comments

miffed | 12 years ago
0 likes

If you can make the journey I think the bike shop in Bridge of Allen sells weilliers but id ring ahead. Also I would recomend getting properly fitted, again a trek but Edinburgh tri shop seem to do a good fitting service for £30 and you get the money back if you buy from them. More locally dales seems to have some sort of bike fitting set up but dunno how it works.

Gregoire500 | 12 years ago
0 likes

My first road bike was an alu Wilier Lavaredo with carbon fork and stays and I loved it-really light, comfy ride but someone tried to nick it and buckled the top tube so I went to a less flashy steel frame.