Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Cannondale Synapse 105 2011

Hi,

I'm a relatively newb to the road cycles scene and am looking to pick up my first road bike, with a view to riding a few sportives, few long solo rides without unduly bothering my fickle back.

I'd shortlisted the Specialized Secteur Comp (GBP 1350) but the colour scheme (along with a mild preference for triple over compact) on 2011 model has been keeping me from buying it.

Recently I came across the Cannondale Synapse (GBP 999) and from first viewing it seems to have similar specs to the Secteur Comp - both have alu frame, carbon forks & seat stays, 105 groupset.

Of course, there are differences in zertz inserts, wheels and brakes but I still can't find enough to justify a 35% premium for the Secteur. Wondering if anyone here has the inside info on the big gap in prices.

Many thanks!

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

6 comments

rbx | 12 years ago
0 likes

Thanks all for the feedback.

@Gepin : Did look at both the Felts but they seemed more oriented towards races and fast club rides. Not sure they'll be as comfortable on long-ish solo rides. I like the triple over compact/double as I hate shifting the front ring except on sharp uphills/downhills. For the vast majority of my rides, I prefer to just stay in the versatile middle ring on front while shifting on back according to the terrain / speed.

@TheBigMong : Yup, the Synapse is top of my list as well now. Just been unsure how have the Specialized been justifying the big premium on Secteur Comp. Unfortunately, the Synapse is proving hard to get my hands on. There seems to be limited supply and a huge demand from all over.