Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

upper back pain

Hi guys, this is my first post.

I’ve been cycling for a few years now. I started off on my old marin mountain bike riding on towpaths doing 20ish miles. I'd go out on weekends with my mate and I would have no pain from knee or back. So a few months later we decided to ditch the tow paths and start riding on the road. Then we decided do the London to Windsor in 2009, which was about 45 miles. Did that and again no injury problems. Everything was good. Over the following months of riding on the roads, we started to increase our distance and do 35 miles sometimes more or less, but average 35miles. Then I started to notice my left upper back/trapezius muscle would hurt. This would only happen near the end of the ride. I never took much notice of it as once I got home I was fine. But it became more and more dominant in my riding.

Last year in july I did the London to Cambridge, which is a 60mile event. The last 20 miles my left upper back was killing me. So I decided to buy myself a road bike, which I absolutely love. I got myself a trek madone 5.2 from the guys at Rutlands cycling in Grafham. But the pain was still there. So doing some research I decided to get a bike fit. I booked myself at sigma cycling to have the specialized BG fit. The guy there nick was very helpful and said my stem size is ok, he raised my saddle height and put the specialized footbed in my cycling shoes. After my setup I was eager to get out and ride, but due to the crappy English weather I had to wait. When the weather was better I went for a ride. Again my left bloody back was hurting. By this point I was cursing and wondering if a bike fit isn’t going to solve my problem what is. I had read loads of articles on bike fit and how they are good but this one didn’t help at all.