Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Bike fitting service - No measuring involved?

Hello,

I'm fairly new to road cycling and have been making do since last year with an old vintage frame, albeit with great Campag gear, but I decided I needed something new.

I visited my LBS and spoke to them about potential bikes and arranged to return to have a bike fitting.
I was told that the guy who was qualified to use the equipment would measure me up and tell me what size bike I'd need. This would cost me £40 but be taken off the price of the bike.

When I went in he sat me on a 57cm frame and got me pedalling on a turbo trainer. It felt ok on the 57, but after a while I felt that there was a bit of tension below my shoulders and after a bit of chat he decided I probably needed a 60cm frame. The sizing of the particular bike goes from 57 to 60cm.

His rational, was that on a 60cm frame I'd have more range of adjustment whereas I was at the maximum limit on the 57cm.

I asked him if I needed to be measured, but he said he could do a better job visually.

My concern is that I've ordered a 60cm bike (should pick it up next week)but never actually sat on one that size and I'm relying totally on the guy's expertise.

I'd appreciate some advice as to if this is normal or not. Bottom line is that if I'm not happy when I collect it I'll be demanding they get me the 57cm but it'll mean another two to three weeks waiting.

Thanks.

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

6 comments

STATO | 13 years ago
0 likes

Well a 60 is only 3cm longer and prob only 1cm higher at the headtube? so if you felt tension (cramped?) on a 57 then a 60 might be better. Im 6ft4 and my bike measures 57cm toptube (60cm seattube tho) and i used a 140mm stem!

dave atkinson | 13 years ago
0 likes