Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Thanks to Fellow Cyclists - NO Thanks to 4WD Driver

Well, I suppose it had to happen eventually - 3 years commuting in London before an actual accident. Constitution Hill this morning (8 March 2011). 4WD towing an enormous JAGUAR trailer, no doubt containing one such car or maybe big cat, of course - decides to do a U-TURN - yes, a u-turn ON Constitution Hill. Having assumed it was pulling out to overtake another vehicle, I moved out, only for it to u-turn in the road. It continued to do so, even though I was trying to avoid its front - which I did - only to head straight to the opposite kerb and crashed onto the pavement (I'm not a pro and not adept at bunny hopping, particularly at 45 degrees to the kerb). Yes, you would assume the driver would then STOP, having just caused an accident - but, no - he simply drove back up towards Hyde Park Corner and disappeared. I believe that is called failing to stop at the scene of an accident. Naturally, 4 of my fellow cyclists stopped to check I was OK - an act for which I show my gratitude - again showing the camaraderie and humanity that exists in the cycling fraternity. Apart from some cuts and bruises, ripped overshoe, ripped tights, scratched brake levers and scratched gear mech, I am relieved to be in one piece.

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

12 comments

OldRidgeback | 13 years ago
0 likes

The only way the cops won't be able to catch up with the offending driver is if the CCTV resolution is too low to pick up the registration plate.

timbola | 13 years ago
0 likes

Wish I did have a headcam - I am wondering about it now, though.  39

jeremyrundle | 13 years ago
0 likes

I assume you have a headcam

timbola | 13 years ago
0 likes