Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Road cycling gloves

Hi All
I am a MSc student studying performance clothing development.
A friend of mine in the sportswear industry has suggested a need for the development of road cycling gloves with high visibility, to help when hand signalling at night / poorly lit conditions.
I understand that a product has been on the market previously using LEDs which wasn’t very successful for various reasons. However, technology for illuminating textiles is far more advanced than LEDs these days – I am thinking along the lines of something that would illuminate without the need for a power source (or minimal power source) and without the reliance of reflectance of light from other vehicles.
Just thought I’d put this idea out there. I’d be grateful for any feedback you have or any bugbears regarding cycling gloves in general!
Thanks in advance
Jane

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

9 comments

wakou | 13 years ago
0 likes

My favourite shop, "Poundland" were selling little flashing white or red teardrop shaped Led lights containing a tiny watch-type battery, I attached them to my gloves. £1 for two.

Simon E | 13 years ago
0 likes

Drifting off topic here, but in response to Cam I found this simple comment from a Bikeability instructor quite revealing:

"Apparently signalling with thumb at the top of the hand rather than at the bottom appears more assertive and is therefore recommended."

This suggests to me that there are simple and sometimes very subtle differences in our behaviour that are sensed by others. When I indicate right I stick my arm locked straight out rather than let it hang at an angle.

More insights at http://thecyclingsilk.blogspot.com/2010/07/my-cycle-training-session.html