Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

change to triple ring?

I have a Trek 1.1. It is fitted with a FSA Tempo, 50/34 chainset and Sun Race CSR86 12-25, 8 speed. I see now I should have got a triple chainset as I am missing the low gears. Is it possible/easy to change? Any hints or tips would be appreciated.
Thanks Phil

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

8 comments

earbyphil | 13 years ago
0 likes

Thanks for the comments all.
I am new to the road bike but have many years on a mountain bike.
I now know I will need to change the rear mech' as it's only suitable for 11-25 (shimano 2300).
So, I will try the Fish-n-Chips and andylul approach.
I had compared MTB/Road whilst riding a steep slope (the road from Foulridge to Fanny Grey, if you know it) and expected it to be more "difficult" but as yet,I have not been able to get to the top in one!
Ta.
Phil

andylul | 13 years ago
0 likes

I swapped a touring triple for a compact 105 and struggled to start with - I rarely use the granny ring (if you can call it that on a compact double) nowadays.

Sounds flippant, but for the extra hassle of changing mechs, chain, cranks wouldn't it be easier just to try and adjust your body to the double?

Fish_n_Chips | 13 years ago
0 likes

Or you could give yourself more time to adapt and ride hills more till you love them!

I love hills but it took me 3 weeks to adjust to them.
Some it takes a year of training. I need to drop loads of weight for July 2011 hill events. Power to weight ratio and lactic threshold.

11-27 cassette would be the ideal option as said by the chain gang if your rear mech can deal with the range of gearing (new chain too).  4

Do you have any injuries? Age? weight? ride posture etc.
Just review yourself quickly before a big spend as you might not to buy a thing.