Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Road tubeless tyre - seating issues

I've been using tubeless for a couple of years now on both a cross bike and a road bike.  I recently had an issue with the valve on the road bike which meant i had to insert a tube to get home.

After replacing the tube i've been unable to get the tyre to re-seat.

I was wondering how many people face this issue, and trouble getting it to seat in the first place?

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

29 comments

peted76 | 5 years ago
0 likes

Argh damn I wish that had allowed a larger image to upload..  the text is outstanding.

peted76 | 5 years ago
2 likes

Here's a real life graph to back it up.

peted76 | 5 years ago
1 like

Tubeless is a different way of thinking from tubes. I get asked all the time "how easy it is to put a tube in at the roadside" by people thinking about trying tubeless. The point being, you shouldn't need to take the tyre off! 

I'm an advocate of tubeless, being an early road adopter it's been a faff no doubt, I seem to have made all the mistakes, but the know how is now out there in the public domain, as is better sealant, and if you follow the 'structions and do it right from the start, it becomes less of a faff than running tubes. There's lots of pro's and con's from both sides, but the big selling point is simply that for 95% of the time which you'd have previously had to stop on the side of the road to change a tube, you won't have to with tubeless, can continue your ride and will harldy know about it, plus no 'sudden sniper shot blow outs' to worry about either. 

KiwiMike | 5 years ago
0 likes

People people, calm down.