Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

help with SRAM hydraulic disk brakes!!

So I’ve just bought a Giant TCX advanced SX and I noticed the front disk brakes didn’t work very well ( after breaking in screeching and lack of power, not being able to lift the back wheel in full force braking) I took it back to the shop where they replaced them with new (different) ones. These also don’t seem to work very well and are also screeching. I am very new to disk brakes as I’ve came from a race bike with rim brakes although I have ridden disks before and been very impressed with the power. What could be causing this? (bearing in mind they are hydraulic disk brakes)

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

9 comments

MoutonDeMontagne | 5 years ago
0 likes

Had a similar experience when i first bought my commuter fitted with Sram Apex HDR. Like you I'm an experienced disc user from the knobbly tyred world and like you i (nearly) hit somethign as the lever pulled to the bar and nothing.  Sadly, like you, the shop's answer was something along the lines of 'well you bought it'. 

I tired:

1. leave it over night with the Lever pulled all the way back to the bar and secured with a laccy band/string/strap.

2. if that helps but then goes dead straght away again, I'd probably bite the bullet and just blead them. Mine took 3 bleeds from new until they stopped getting air in the system.

3. if the above done help, take a can of lighter fluid and a lighter to the pads and disc to burn off any contamination. Takes the pads and wheel out first though. 

IanEdward | 5 years ago
0 likes