Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Wattbike Atom resistance

Hi

Im a bit of a newbie. Got a Croix de Fer for occasional commuting and short weekend rides. Decided this year to get a bit more serious so hired a Wattbike Trainer. Its been great so far doing Sufferfest videos indoors in the snow!

Anyway I only hired the Wattbike in January so missed September to December and want to get set up for later this year as the weather in Scotland in the winter is pretty lousy!

So yesterday I went to my mates workplace as they have bought a Wattbike Atom for their little work gym.
Had a very brief go on it and found a weird thing. In "gear" mode the resistance still seems to vary. I would have thought it would be constant a bit like the older Wattbike that I have.

I messaged Wattbike support and they messaged back saying you had to keep to a steady cadence.

Can anyone explain if this is right? It seems a bit odd. I was contemplating buying an Atom when my Wattbike goes back. However if I don't understand how it works I might buy the Wattbike Trainer that I already have!

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

11 comments

CXR94Di2 | 6 years ago
1 like

Smart trainers have (decent) Erg mode and slope mode.
Erg is where the trainer has been set by the software simulator to a fixed power(no necessity to alter gears). the rider then has to maintain that power in several ways. You either use higher cadence which lowers the resistance or slow cadence and lots of leg strength. you can also vary cadence, resistance will alter so you maintain the set power. I, when doing HIT intervals might do several intervals at 100+rpm and some at 80rpm for leg strength training.