Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

SPD (not SPD-SL) shoe recommendation?

I'm just getting into road biking, and have decided I'd prefer to use SPD over SPD-SL.  Mainly so I can carry pints across the pub to the beer garden without falling on my behind.

I've already settled on some Ritchey WCS Micro pedals.  I've read mixed reports about their longevity bearing-wise, but we'll see how I get on.

Which shoes should I pair them with?

The above pedal choice might clue you in that I'm a bit of a weightweenie, so I'd prefer some fairly light shoes.  I know I won't find much that will compete with high-end SPD-SL shoes for lightness, but let's try!

Comfort and stiffness (contradictory terms often, I'm sure) are also both important.  I read comments about people getting "hot-spots" in SPD shoes as opposed to SPD-SL, so hopefully there's something out there that copes better than most.

Lastly, it'd be nice if they were last year's model available with a huge discount on CRC etc!

I have no local bike shopt that carries any meaningful amount of shoes, or I would go down that route.

Thanks!

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

24 comments

Johnnystorm | 6 years ago
0 likes

I've got the RT5, the Velcro version of the RT4s mentioned above. Plenty comfortable enough for walking in and stiff enough for a 1400km Audax.

downhiller | 6 years ago
0 likes

Got the Savix. Ordered 46 and 47 given owners' comments about them coming up small - I'm UK 10.5 normally. 47 feel pretty good, I barely noticed or thought about them at all them at all on the ride I just did, which feels like the way a pair of shoes should be.

320g each for the 47s, 310g for the 46s, if that helps anyone who finds this comment one day!

Oh, and SM-SH40 adapters are 35g a pair. I couldn't find that info anywhere before I ordered.

/weightgimp

Geraldaut | 6 years ago
0 likes