Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

160 to 140mm disc brake rotors

Hi All,

I have a Canyon Ultimate CF SLX Disc and I'm in the process of upgrading to Ultegra R8000 (anyone want to buy Ultegra 6800 crankset as well as front and rear mech?! - once my new shifters arrive anyway).

Shimano recommends 140mm rotors, as mentioned in road.cc's review http://road.cc/content/review/217032-canyon-aeroad-cf-slx-disc-80-di2

Why do I want to switch to smaller, less powerful rotors? It's quite simple, my Canyon is essentially my dream bike, so the aesthetics are very important and I think 140mm rotors look much better.

I weigh 67kg and I don't do mountain descents, so I highly doubt heat build up or brake fade is going to be an issue. I also don't ride my Canyon in poor conditions (mud/rain), so I'm not overly concerned about braking power.

I'm new to flat mount disc brakes... I assume it is as simple as  (changing the rotors - obviously) removing the rear 160mm spacer and flipping the front spacer to the 140 position?

Just want to make sure I'm not missing something (like frame compatibility).

Cheers!

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

10 comments

StraelGuy | 6 years ago
0 likes

Take a look at these, a third the price of most brand name discs and the quality is absolutely TOP notch. I found them looking for round discs as I don't like the aesthetic of wavy ones...

BarryBianchi replied to StraelGuy | 6 years ago
0 likes

StraelGuy wrote:

Take a look at these, a third the price of most brand name discs and the quality is absolutely TOP notch. I found them looking for round discs as I don't like the aesthetic of wavy ones...

bookmarked.

Canyon48 replied to StraelGuy | 6 years ago
0 likes

StraelGuy wrote:

That's a pretty good price! I'm using centrelocks now though.

velochris | 6 years ago
0 likes