Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

HELP! New wheelset, end cap loose on rear caused rub on chainstay.....

Hi all

I'm a noob here but not a noob to cycling.....have owned many bikes over the years and am a fairly competent mechanic.

The problem i've encountered has come with a new set of wheels on which it would appear that the end caps have not been tightened, this has resulted in the drive side end cap (rear wheel) protruding further than it would normally, in turn this has caused frame rub (down to the carbon but not through it) to my relatively new frame....when I realised what has caused this, I figured I could tighten it by hand and could see the clearance improve......

I've since sent the wheel back to the manufactuer and they are arguing that i've not tightened the QR and the end cap has loosened itself from there. and that it's not possible that the wheel was sent without the end cap being tightened......

I've not had to make any adjustments with the indexing(which does sound odd, but I can adjust the end cap in and out but still don't have to), i did however have to resit the disc brake calipers.

Advice please......Do I go small claims court??

thanks

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

15 comments

madcarew | 6 years ago
1 like

The description is certainly a little confusing. Pictures of frame damage? It seems like very loose cones is the most likely answer, in which case, although the wheel manufacturer may have sent it out like that, it would be down to the cyclist to stop when they notice the wheel rubbing on the frame.

SteveAustin | 6 years ago
0 likes

so, if the wheel nuts had been tightened and everything right; the cassette/locknut shouldnt have hit the frame, ever.