Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Cassette for Turbo Trainer

I'm relatively new to road cycling and got my first bike a few months back - a Cube Attain Race.

I've just purchased a second hand turbo trainer for the winter and they guy a bought it off chucked in a training tyre and a spare wheel for free when I collected.  This will obviously make switching between the road and the garage a lot easier but I need to buy a cassette to fit on the turbo trainer wheel.

My Cube has a Shimano CS-HG500, 11-34T cassette so do I need to buy the exact same cassette for the spare wheel or if not what do I need?

I'm assuming I need a HG but do I need 11-34 or could I go for a 11-32?

Cheers

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

6 comments

TypeVertigo | 6 years ago
1 like

The problem with getting a cassette that is too different from the one you already have is the chain length. Chances are, you're running a pretty long chain if you have an 11-34 block.

11-32 or 11-30 should be fine, but anything else and you'd probably end up with more slack chain than your derailleur cage can tension without actually removing links from it.

pablo | 6 years ago
0 likes

wouldnt worry on a turbo.  cheapest you can find thats compatible.  I have a wheel off trainer and run my climbing gears on that 11-32 they only get used oncenor twice a year so less messing around swapping.  Even a basic fluid trainer with no resistance i wouldn't worry about it.

The _Kaner | 6 years ago
0 likes

Like for like means no set up issues or fettling needed with gears/derailleur etc. when swapping wheels

Nixster | 6 years ago
1 like