Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Pre Ride 'routine' / Drinks / Food

Hi All, 

Im relatively new to cycling, and currently only ride about 20-30 mile rides, although im looking to obviously increase this. 

The thing i would like opinions on is what is peoples pre ride routines? 

Reason i ask is currently when i ride, sometimes im fine and have energy etc(although obviously tire as ride goes on), BUT other times almost as soon as a i ride i feel like my legs are not working and have zero energy. 

My Friend who runs a bit, said i should use a 'Pre Workout' Drink, which is high in caffine as boosts energy... Question is, does anyone use something like this? I have looked and found something called High5 EnergySource 4:1 With Super Carbs, which seems to have good reviews, but it doesnt contain caffine.

Any advise or recomendations welcome, as it is frustrating that i dont know what is best and get despondant while riding. 

Thanks

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

32 comments

simonmb | 6 years ago
0 likes

For an early start; c. 100km ride at tempo; it's always the same: coffee on, porridge on. Drink water. Get dressed. Drink coffee. Eat porridge. If it's going to be hot I'll drink a hydration formula even before I go out. Try to get a shit out before putting my shoes on. 

If you're not feeling it within a few minutes of riding, it's not your nutrition you're just not bike fit yet.

Keep riding - regularly.

Dnnnnnn | 6 years ago
0 likes

As others have suggested, everyone's different but the vast majority of healthy adults shouldn't need a special routine for a couple of hours ride at a moderate pace. Just eat a normal, balanced diet of good meals and the odd healthy snacks. Keep yourself hydrated too - but don't become overly-fixated on any of this.