Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Complete newbie in need of tips/advice Cyclocross vs Road

Hi all

I'm a complete newbie having only rode mountain bikes on trail for years.  I haven't rode in a long time as a year and a half ago I had a pretty decent knee injury and I'm only now at the tail end of the physio.  However just as I begin prepping to get back on two wheels some **expletives redacted** broke into my garage and stole my beloved Stumpy.   As a result I thought now was as good a time as ever to get out on the road (as this meets my commuting / physio needs better), I'm also 40 and not in need of any new mtb injuries!

I think i'd still like to do some trail even if it's fairly calm stuff but I also really want to be able to get out with a friend who is an out and out road bike man. Will I (current fitness/knee aside) struggle to keep a decent pace on a cyclocross.  I'm also worried that I'll get the bug for road and wish I hadn't gone full cyclo.  However, I have got to come to terms with a) drop bars, b) the insanity of cleats, and c) sphincter imploding bald/narrow tyres - hence my lean towards cross!

Final factor is that as it's an insurance replacement I'm limited to a specific company albeit with a decent enough selection for my needs and budget.  Test riding my shortlists will be time consuming and tricky as it will be ordered online so I've got to somehow track these down without being identified as a timewaster (which technically i will be!)

Top end is £1300 but I don't know how much to take off for the necessary gear. I know there's no one size fits all answer but if any of these are absolute no-no's it'll help me with getting out and finding them to test.

Options based on top end are: