Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Disc brakes - useless when wet!

I know, the subject name doesn't make sense, right!?

I bought a hybrid bike in the summer which has hydraulic disks (Shimano BR-M355) and as soon as it gets wet, they are almost completely useless.  Like dangerously ineffective useless.  In the dry they are fantastic.

The bike has been back to the shop twice and they have fully cleaned out the system and replaced the pads (apparently), all for free, of course, but the problem persists.

Has anyone ever come across this before or have any suggestions?  I guess I'll be taking it back in again but don't have total faith in their ability to fix it so I wouldn't mind being armed with a few suggestions (I'm new to disc breaks and so far, obviously, underwhelmed!).

Cheers

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

15 comments

DrG82 | 7 years ago
2 likes

Being Shimano they will be mineral oil filled, which is not hygroscopic unlike dot fluid, so they are unlikely to need bleading unless they have been very poorly bled initially, which is quite a rare situation as they are all done in factory. The easy way to check is simply be lever feel, ie. is it firm?

Shimano pads are probably IMO the achiles heel of their brakes, they are hippy hugging envioment friendly organic things that just don't do as good a job as the fluffy animal poisoning evil sintered pads.

Try looking at superstar components for pads, theey are super cheap and work well.

As stated above, keep any lube or WD40 type products away from them and occasionally give them a really good yank when heading down hill fast to take off any glaze andbuild a bit of heat in them.

Sintered pads are also less succeptible to contamination than organic/fibre pads.

SingleSpeed | 7 years ago
1 like