Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Saddle sores

In order to save money I started commuting the 17 odd miles to work a few months ago on an old Pashley Roadsters that my brother lent me. I looked a bit of a prat but loved it and after sticking to it for 6 weeks or so decided that I'd earned the right to but a new bike to speed up the journey and make it easier.
So I bought a Ridgeback Horizon and well, it's a lovely bike and my ride to work is both quicker and easier.

Only problem is comfort. My hands ache after 20 minutes and the saddle kills me. Will this wear off in time? is it worth investing in a new saddle or are they all the same? I'm new to all this and am concerned that I might just be being a bit weedy.

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

12 comments

joe24773 | 13 years ago
0 likes

Thanks everyone for all the great feedback.

It could be that the frame is a little to big - I got a 60cm (I'm 6'2") but as I have long legs and comparatively short arms this probably means that I'm stretched out a lot more than I should be. I don't really know as I'm new to this. I didn't get a proper fitting as I bought from Evans over the internet. Probably false economy, I know.

I will dfinitely try the cream (chafing is actually a problem I was too embarrassed to mention!) and get some proper shorts and mits. I'll have to get some lights soon as well as autumn draws on....and waterproofs etc.

Oh well, I'm still saving money and hey, I love it.

Ciclismo replied to joe24773 | 13 years ago
0 likes
joe24773 wrote:

Thanks everyone for all the great feedback.