Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Sensors for training

I'm interested in getting some sensors (speed, cadence, hrm) to encourage me to use a turbo trainer as I try to regain some fitness. I've never used sensors before and am looking for advice and recommendations.

So far in my research I think I've gained an understanding of how they work and how to use them. I've also found that Garmin and Wahoo seem to be the most popular.

What I'd like to know is:

Do I need a head unit to use sensors or will an android tablet/phone be adequate?

Which sensors would you recommend and why?

Thanks

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

9 comments

TheFatAndTheFurious | 7 years ago
0 likes

The Samsung Galaxy A5 phone supports both Bluetooth and ANT+. The Android Strava app on that phone paired up with an old Garmin HRM strap and an Edge speed/cadence sensor without issue.

The only problem with that setup is that the "speed" aspect of that sensor isn't actually "speed" - it's just wheel RPM. You either program the head unit with your wheel diameter to get speed, or, in the case of a Garmin Edge, let it work it out for itself based on how far you actually go for a given number of turns of the wheel.

As for sensor recommendations, I recommend _not_ using the Garmin Soft Strap premium monitor - I had two degrade on me quite suddenly after about 8 months use each. I got a replacement from Garmin both times, but the third one is still in the box and I use the older plastic-strap version without issue.

CXR94Di2 | 7 years ago
0 likes

Funny, my Garmin HRM lasted well over 2 years, so I thought I would try the Tickr, it failed after a month.  Its going back for another try

davel | 7 years ago
0 likes