Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

HR zones - am I dumb, or just superhuman?

Earlier this year I started riding again after almost 20 years off the bike, and having decided to take this a bit more seriously I just got The Time-Crunched Cyclist but now that I've read it I am a little baffled.

When I was riding at university I could always hold a high heart rate – I'd always climb in the 180s, and once did a race where I averaged 182 for the first hour (!). I'm now 39 and climb at 175–180 all the time, and hit 184 on a climb the other day. I haven't tried to do a max HR test, but I'm wondering if 190 would be about right. In short, I have a high heart rate when I'm on the bike.

When I did the TCC fitness test averaged 170 for eight minutes on my indoor trainer, which was lower than I'd have anticipated, but I can't argue with the data. The thing is, that figure is used to calculate HRs for intervals etc that make no sense to me. When I look at my data on Strava I can see that when I was out for five hours yesterday I held 160–165 for 20 minutes at a time on climbs and along the flats – but TCC is suggesting I do 3 x 12 minute intervals at 156–160 BPM, which I'd have considered a warmup. The "power intervals" are around 172 which I'd rate as a comfortable climbing pace, and holding this for two minutes (as the training plan suggests) is a doddle.

I figure I've screwed something up. 

Did I go too easy on the fitness test? Or is this due to me doing the test on the trainer and comparing it to HRs on the road? Do I need to adjust the TCC interval figures for outdoor riding, and if so, should I add perhaps 5 or 10 BPM to all of them and see how that goes? Or should I just do the test again but do it outdoors this time? (I did it indoors because that made it easier to control things, given I want to do the same test every few months.)

What do ya'll reckon?

Stephen