Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Not much faster on a cyclocross than a mountain bike

I've been commuting a 13 mile journey to work for nearly two years now on a mountain bike, and I've just bought a cyclocross thinking it would be significantly faster.  I record almost all my commutes and rides but I've not found the cyclocross to be significantly faster than the MTB. 

I've not ridden a road bike/cyclocross for over 20 years before getting my new bike and I have had to have a period of adjustment, but still I would expect it to be faster. 

I feel as I'm putting in as much effort.  There is obviously a difference in the MTB being able to accelerate faster and the cyclocross cruising faster, but considering most of the route is on road, the lack of difference between the two is a bit strange. 

What am a doing wrong? 

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

42 comments

bendertherobot | 7 years ago
0 likes

For leaves read ice. Nothing works apart from being very careful. 

I'd go with something like the Schwalbe G-One. You can get them non tubeless now.

http://nextdaytyres.co.uk/details.aspx/11600774-29-Schwalbe-G-ONEAllroun...

tugglesthegreat replied to bendertherobot | 7 years ago
0 likes

bendertherobot wrote:

I'd go with something like the Schwalbe G-One. You can get them non tubeless now.

They seem a great tyre but I like the look of the price of the conti CX speeds seen some for a pair for the same price of the G-Ones.

bendertherobot replied to tugglesthegreat | 7 years ago
0 likes

tugglesthegreat wrote:

bendertherobot wrote:

They seem a great tyre but I like the look of the price of the conti CX speeds seen some for a pair for the same price of the G-Ones.

That argument works in relation to a lot of tyres. But the G-One are a superb tyre and better than the Conti.

Daveyraveygravey | 7 years ago
0 likes