Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Wheel bearing damage??

All

My rear wheel has started making some 'funny' noises. In particular a kind of grinding noise, especially when spun backwards when off the ground or I back pedal.

I am not an expert, but I am guessing this is a wheel bearing issue. I run a rim brake Giant Defy 2 (2015) and use it in all seasons, so the stock wheels have been through around 18months use.

I suppose my question is 3 fold

1. If it is a wheel bearing, or similar, will I be doing extreme damage to continue riding for the next few weeks until I am paid? My weekly kms are c.140km.

2. How do I ascertain what type of bearing my wheel uses?

3. Any other thoughts what could make a noise such as this? I appreciate info is limited. I have cleaned the drivetrain and removed / refitted the rear wheel to ensure all alligned. No issues in shifting at the rear mech either.

Cheers

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

4 comments

zedthegreat | 7 years ago
0 likes

Cheers all. I've been off the bike actually since I posted as feeling a bit under the weather, but will have a look this weekend. I appreciate the advice. 

Suppose it is that question of whether it is more economical to replace or repair, esp not having all the required tools as of yet.....

For info, I do keep the bike clean, so it sounds as though I was on the right track.

racingcondor | 7 years ago
0 likes

As has been said, take the wheel out and spin it on the axle to see how well it spins. I'd also like the chain if it's not done regularly.

My bet would be the freehub. Should be easy enough to get off though so I'd take the hub apart, clean and put a small amount of grease on the pawls (too much and they can start to stick).

You'll know pretty quickly what is wrong once you start to take it apart though.

Acm | 7 years ago
1 like