Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Orthotic insoles for knee and back soreness

Hi all.  Newbie here..

I've been mountain biking 10+ years and the last year has been all about road biking.

im finding that I get Pain on the outer of my knee after ridding.  This fizzles away as I build up distance.  

More annoying is lower back lumber hip tightening  pain which coincides with a tightening of my hamstring when I power up on climbs and on flats. 

I'm trying various physio stretches and core strengthening but am curious to whether it's with trying some foot orthotics.  Anyone had experience?

I definatly overpronate when I run and walk. 

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

8 comments

danjthomas | 7 years ago
0 likes

Thanks for your reply. I've definatly got one leg stronger than the other. I'm trying to physio it away and started core work as I'm definatly weak there. Got some glute strengthening and hip stretches to do. Time will tell.

I've had a bike fit. I'm delivering more power now but not made a difference to this issue. Only ridding brings on my back issue and It fades after a while so hopefully it's not disk related!!

davidgray968 | 7 years ago
0 likes

You don't say in your question whether you have had a bike fit since moving over to the road. A colleague of mine had one as he was in a similar situation but without the years on an MTB behind him. His saddle was lowered by 1 and a half centimetres and they fitted insoles too to stop his knees rotating when pedalling and although he still has the normal new to biking niggles he is a lot better. Exercising will strengthen the weak muscles but if you don't eliminate any possible cause you will go around incircles and possibly do more damage in the process.

StraelGuy | 7 years ago
0 likes