Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Should I replace stock formula hubs and Alex ATD 470 rims

Hi,

New joiner here but have been reading the forums for a while gleaming bits here and there and decided to join. 

I used to ride mountain bikes only bit have decided to get back to more road focused rises too.   I got a Norco Threshold cyclo cross bike and enjoyed it immensely so when it got stolen I upgraded on the replacement to one of these adventure gravel bikes.   So now have a Jamis Renegade Expert though I am far from an expert. 

Question as per title,  and apologies for the rambling,  it's it worth upgrading the stock wheels - I will be doing more road riding on it with little bits off road still and since I weigh 103kg I need them to be durable and light -ish.

Also not trying to spend more than 350.

Any suggestions? 

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

7 comments

The Sledge | 7 years ago
0 likes

I have JRA jawbones on my dry weather carbon road bike - fantastic wheel set, much lighter and  smother than the Ksyrium Elite they replaced. Smashed every single PB on my regular Strava climbs around Langsett and Strines within a month of fitting them.Mine are the non disc version and I'll definitely be replacing the Alex ATDs that are on my GT Grade with jawbone discs when I can afford it.

Johnnyvee | 7 years ago
0 likes

Thanks for that I'll have a look and see what I end up with.  Was thinking the stock wheels for the dirty work and the newbies for road but I don't know if I'll end up with anything better than i already have for the price.