Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Another which Bike

Hi guys, I'm new to the forum but have been reading a lot of good content from the reviews section. Thanks.

I'm down to two bikes :

2015 Felt AR5 which is marked down to $2150 Canadian. (8.1kg 58cm)

2016 Giant TCR advanced 2 $2150 CAD

Both have the full 105 group set. They both have house brand wheels. Any experience on which is better? 

The type of riding I do now is usually 50 km solo or with a friend. I'm new to road cycling and quite fit and would like to do some grand fondos, some club riding, and maybe some races in the future if the sport takes me that way.

My main objectives are to get a bike that's stiff, offers value, and durable. Fast is nice but I'm not overly concerned with weight. That being said does anyone know how much the giant weighs (I've been googling to no avail). 

I think my real question is how much benefit is there to the aero frame. And what are the tradeoffs?

How do the manufacturers compare in terms of warranty and customer service?

The second part to this is sizing. I'm 5'7.5'' with a 32 inch inseam. I seem to fall right in between the 52 and 54 or small and medium. My legs are on the long side which would imply my torso is shorter does that mean I would need a smaller frame (less reach). That's my logic. However, I'm seeing on the sizing charts that having a greater inseam says I should be a medium or 54. Take a look here. click what's my size right under the price. (https://www.giant-bicycles.com/en-ca/bikes/model/tcr.advanced.2/24639/89...). If someone educate me a bit here that would be greatly appreciated. 

Thanks for any help  1

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

9 comments

Adrian_ | 7 years ago
2 likes