Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Dura Ace Pedals - Possibly Broken?

I've been using Dura Ace 9000 pedals for the last 3 years and i've recetly started having an issue with the right pedal. Everytime I look at my foot at the bottom of the pedal rotation it is moving as though it isn't fully secure. The left foot doesnt move at all. I thought it might be worn cleats but after replacing them its still happening. I've even set the tension to the maximum and again it continues to happen.

Has anyone experienced this before? is there anything I can check or do to fix this?  Being Dura Ace i'm hoping they are not knackered after only 3 years.

Thanks

Craig

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

6 comments

roomservicetaco | 8 years ago
0 likes

If the pedals are two years old and you have never serviced them, they probably just need to be re-packed with grease.  The axle for Shimano pedals holds the bearings and is screwed into the pedal housing.  The axle/bearing system is held in place by a layer of grease.  When the grease disintegrates, the axle can move a bit inside the pedal housing.  

The fix is simple - unscrew the axle, shoot some grease inside the housing, and re-install the axle.  Plenty of Youtube videos will show you how or else the shop can do it in 5  minutes.

I have a bunch of Shimano pedals - road and mtb  [same axle system - the only difference is the pedal body].  Can't say exactly how often they need to be serviced, but I'd guess every 9-12 months, though not surprising that you could make it to 2 years before it becomes as bad as you've experienced.

Good luck.

craig749 | 8 years ago
0 likes

It doesnt look too worn however I think it must be. I clipped both shoes in whilst not on my feet and the left one is firmly in place however the right one is really loose so I think the pedal body must be worn.