Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

saddle woes

saddle sores - what does it say about my saddle?

Ive just come back from doing some cycle touring in NZ, covered about 1100km in all on mixed surfaces. After about 300km i developed saddle sores - more pressure sores than chafing, directly on my sit bones. This kind of spoiled the trip a bit, tried various creams and stuff with padded shorts but to no avail. Im quite sure Ive got my saddle position and height correct as Ive been riding for many years and love to tweak things.
My usual road saddle is a charge spoon which ive used for up to 100 miles, my MTB saddle is a WTB rocket, and for this I opted for a different one as the Spoon isnt comfortable for me on rough surfaces and the Rocket is a bit old. So I got an OnOne Bignose saddle which is reputedly a good all rounder, albeit narrower than the Spoon at 133mm. I did some shorter rides on it (few 20 milers) with no problems before the trip.
Now what im wondering is - would too narrow a saddle cause these kind of pressure sores, or is it simply the wrong shape or type of saddle for me?
Ive tried measuring my sit bone width which comes out at about 90mm so going from online guides a 130mm saddle should be fine.

Please share any suggestions you may have even if they are only personal preference.

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

6 comments

saxman | 8 years ago
0 likes

Firstly I'd endorse the "don't do anything on equipment you haven't previously tried & tested" philosophy and I'd include don't alter your position on the bike e.g. higher or lower your saddle etc. Make sure you can ride at least the longest distance in a day you expect to do on tour and that you can ride the average daily mileage on 2 consecutive days.