Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Front derailleur adjustment

Hi guys, having a problem with my Cannondale Synapse 105 disc alloy. I changed my rear tyre and skewer to use on a turbo and seem to have knocked my gears out of alignment. I've lined up the rear wheel and indexed the rear gears ok. However, for some reason I'm getting chain rub on the front derailleur in high chain ring and gear. I've had a go at moving it round and tensioning the wire, but even with the derailleur pulled out to the limit of the spring it's still catching. Any ideas on what I could be missing. Many thanks in advance. 

Ps in case it's not obvious I'm a bit of a newbie!

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

10 comments

VeloUSA | 8 years ago
0 likes

That's good news. Hopefully the mech explained what he did so you can chalk it up as part of your learning curve. Happy riding.

Duncanchild | 8 years ago
0 likes

Ok, I was obviously not doing things right because a 10 min fiddle by the lbs got everything lined up fine. Nothing to report on actual faults. I've got my home mechanic course lined up for April so will hopefully be able to sort myself in future!

. . | 8 years ago
0 likes

Please come back and let us know what LBS find

0 likes

First up, many thanks for the helpful responses. I spent the whole evening with my steed following online instructions to set it up. The result; worse situation than when I started. Bearing in mind I've signed up for my first sportives this year, am horrendously out of shape and want to get back into training, I've made a 2 step action plan:

1) this time just give in and go to the lbs

2) I've signed myself up for a maintenance course. I'm hoping that some in person instruction may help guide my fat fingers in future!!