Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

First Bike - Commuting and more - Please Help!

Hi everyone,

I'm sure this has been posted many a time, so, sorry about that. I am really lost and confused and need some advice, hopefully you can help. I am wanting to cycle to work as a 3 mile walk in very boring and long. I then want to try do 5 - 10 miles home each day for fitness and then build up my fitness and stamina over the weekends. So, I first looked at a hybrid bike but got told that they are'nt any good for longer rides and the position you sit in is not ideal - I have had lower back problems through sport. (one person said a road bike puts me in a better position)

Now, I scrapped that idea and looked at road bikes. Oh god, too many to choose from and look at and even understand all the differences. I am a novice to cycling but not in sport. I do believe in paying for good gear. But that being said - budget is circa £500 maybe more. I then read about these road bikes that have a more relaxed seating position but still a good fitness bike and with room for decent sized tyres and mudguards etc.

Also, in terms of drop bars and changing gears, is this a simple thing? It just seems awkward?

I have looked at Mango and they seem nice but once all the add ons and bits are added I was looking at over £600. Sitting on the fence there.  Then looked at Giant and I have now got into a position of total confusion.

I would like something fairly comfy but something that I can learn to cycle properly on. I am 6'2" and 16st (looking to get back to 15 but I am quite broad) so I dont know if this makes a difference too? I am also wanting some advice on pedals - the thought of being a novice with my feet clamped in makes me nervous, but I like the fact that you get the upward power too - how easily do your feet clip in and out and is this doable for commuting in stop start traffic? What saddles are the the best and comfiest for a starter too?