Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Wet Road with slick tyres

Greetings all, sorry for the "wet" questions ha ha, but my background is in mountain biking.  I have been going out in the evenings for a 20 Mike Loop using my mountain bike with 1.75 tyres that has a tread pattern. 

I would like to start using my road bike that is carbon with slick tyres.  I am paranoid that because they are slick, that the grip will not be good when I corner. 

Any experience or tips would be greatly appreciated 

King Regards Tony Wood 

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

29 comments

Paul J | 8 years ago
0 likes

Conti 4seasons are the grippiest tyres I've had. Also (by far) the fastest wearing. Schwalbe Duranos are my current favoured tyre for winter riding - reasonable grip and puncture protection.

antigee | 8 years ago
0 likes

"
sm [369 posts] 4 days ago
0 likes  

Bicycle quarterly recently published some interesting research re: slicks in wet. In short, slicks are no good in the wet. Here's the research(link is external).

- See more at: http://road.cc/content/forum/176604-wet-road-slick-tyres#sthash.ILbwHXwR..."

thanks will look at

my list of things to avoid/take care with:

slick concrete as found in some underpasses / car park entrances

white lines / yellow lines 

as above metal covers and large metal plates covering holes

tram tracks if you have them are very special in the rain

grit washing in from side roads

grit at junctions outside the area used by vehicles

pollen/blossom from trees 

hidden pot holes in deep puddles

bricks/rocks in deep water on cycle paths

BBB | 8 years ago
0 likes

Completely slick bicycle tyres offer the best grip only on the completely slick surfaces which don't happen in the real world outside the laboratory or a velodrome.