Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

What to pay attention to when buying low-ish – end touring / commuting bike?

I bought my first not-shitty bike earlier this year (Whyte Malvern) only to have it stolen this Sunday  2 Anyway, that means I've got to get a new one as soon as possible because it's quite essential to my car-less / living-not-cenrally combo life.

I use bicycle for everyday commute (~12 miles daily) as well as touring. I'm quite new to the latter, having done only several day trips and one longer 1400 mi journey, but I definitely anticipate more +1000-milers sometime in the future. As much as I enjoyed riding the All-terrain Whyte I feel that given my circumstances I should really look into geting a tourer but I have no idea what things I should be paying attention to. Even if I did, I don't have enough awarness of what's out there to be able to compare all the different shifters, derailleurs, breaks etc. Can you recommend anything I could look into getting?

My budget is around £650 for a bike + fenders + back rack (but willing to go up to ~£900 if it'd make a huge difference). Also I'd be getting it under my company's CycleScheme so it'd be great if the bike was available online on Wiggle, Evans Cycles or Chain Reaction Cycles.

So far I like two in particular: a Fuji Touring 2016 and a Jamis Aurora 2016. How do they compare to each other and to general specs I should be aiming for? I quite like the look they both are going for - simple, straight, stable.

Appreciate any help!

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

12 comments

MuddyPete | 8 years ago
0 likes