Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Cassette and Chainset advice

Hi All, I'm looking at upgrading or replacing my chain, cassette and possibly chain set. Partly through wear, but also to offer me a little more assistance on the climbs, and downhill speed increase. I live in a hilly part of South Wales. I currently have a 50/39/30 triple chainset, and I think a 11 or 12 /28 or 30 on the rear. Running Shimano Ultegra setup.

I'm starting to push the distances from 50miles upwards, and with the numbers of hills, and the fact that the majority of my riding is alone, I'm looking to make it a little easier on my self on the hills, but to also be able to increase my speed on downhills, I get to the point there I can't keep up with the bikes while cycling downhill.

Does anyone have any thoughts or suggestions? I'm still learning and reading up on bikes, but would like some experienced advice, rather than me making a wrong decision

Cheers Tom

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

12 comments

JonD | 8 years ago
0 likes

No-one's mentioned it yet so may not be a problem, but if you drop inner teeth and increase outer teeth check that your rear mech has enough capacity (effectively cage length).

Dunno offhand how road stuff pans out, mine is a road/ mtb mix - but a larger front ring may need a slightly longer chain, and smaller inner may need to take a bit more chain slack - big-big or small-small are best avoided for chain wear issues, but it's best to check it'll be handled so an inadvertent big-big selection doesn't pull the chain apart  1 I guess you must have a mid-cage rear mech already if you're using a triple.