Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Cadence?? What is it? Is it important?

I'm quite new to road cycling, a year now. Got myself a nice cannondale supersix evo last week, hence now I'm starting to really get into it.
Having been a mtb'er(and still am but less so now) for the last 15 years or so I've never really given cadence a thought. But I'm now looking for ways to improve my cycling so I can ride longer/harder/faster.
I've been getting out on 30+ milers very frequently and also have a 30 mile commute which I do two-three times a week(weather permitting)
I take it cadence is the amount of pedal turns in a min? Or is it?
How would I measure this?
Is it important in road cycling?
I have a cateye strada comp which I'm looking to upgrade soon, would I better getting a comp which had cadence on to?

Thanks in advance, sorry if it's a stupid question!

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

11 comments

levermonkey | 8 years ago
0 likes

Everyone has there own built in rpm i.e. a pedalling speed that they find comfortable. There are no hard and fast rules, only guidance.

With training and pedalling technique you can increase this natural rpm and after a year of road cycling you should now be looking at a cycling computer to take you to the next step.

My general advice to beginners is to not get a cycle computer immediately but instead concentrate on technique and your natural rhythm.
Try to maintain a cadence of 60+. We can all count rough seconds in our heads and one revolution per second is not that stressful.
If your cadence falls below 60 then you're in too higher gear.
If your thrashing around like a demented blender then your gear is too low.
Slightly increase your cadence when climbing, you will find it easier.
And that's the end of the advice really.