Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Starting up on a road bike

Hi all

I am trying to get a road bike, I have plenty of experience as a MTB rider although mainly in my country of origin (Portugal). I am not the most confident of cyclists (cars do pass way too close around here) and I have recently been given a trainer. Now I am thinking of investing in a road bike to get some exercise going (I do need to lose the weight) and eventually when braver to start venturing on the roads.

I have been torn between the Carrera Virtuoso and the Carrera TDF. Both can go for the £250 marker and i really didn't want to spend more. I am not expecting to race or do any mad hills.

Not really sure to be honest. I am 1.78m tall which is roughly 5.8 but the issue is that frame wise my arse sits in between the 51 and 54. I could go second hand but not sure really.

Any advice?

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

11 comments

Snorrarcisco | 8 years ago
0 likes

Most of you recommended a second hand bike and I found a few on ebay, just wary of the eternal issue of warranty lol

would a Specialized tricross (i know purists will dislike it) be a step too far? I found one who is a mechanic's job but not sure really if all is as it should be

Sorry to be a pain

0 likes

Refused again lol seems the cycling community does not want anything with me. Maybe its because I am in the south or due to my name... oh well

On wards and upwards I suppose

0 likes

I keep getting refused HalfWheeler i try to get there and nothing lol its weird

HalfWheeler | 8 years ago
0 likes

Buy a 2nd hand road bike. As long as it's in good condition you'll get more bang for your buck.

I'd avoid Gumtree but there are plenty of Facebook pages where you can search for a bike or even post an advert up saying you're looking for a road bike at £250;