Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Prudential Ride 100 Training - How Far should I ride

Hi

I'm currently training for the Prudential Ride 100, I cycle to work (only 4miles each way) trying to do a hilly 25 miler in the week and a longer ride on the weekend. I've never done 100 miles before (current max 45) and wondered how far I should get up before August 2nd.

I set myself a goal of adding 10 miles a week to my long ride leading up to it to a max of 90 the week before. So working backwards 1 week to go 90 miles, 2 weeks to go 80 miles, 3 weeks to go 70 miles, 4 weeks to go 60 miles etc etc but surely doing a 90 miles the week before isn't advisable?

I know when training for marathons they only suggest to train up to 20 miles and do the last 6 on adrenalin. So what's the cycling equivalent 80?

Cheers

Gary

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

40 comments

Gary81 | 8 years ago
0 likes

Hope everyone had a good ride. Despite 2 punctures I managed to get round in 7hrs which was my target. My Strava moving time was 6hrs 20mins so pretty pleased overall.

edvelo replied to Gary81 | 8 years ago
0 likes

Hi Gary,

Well done on getting around. I also got around, thankfully without any mechanicals although I did have to pick a couple of guys out of the hedge after they took each other out. I made it around in 6hr 17m (I got through before they closed Leith Hill), moving time was 5hr33m.

If you ever want to join our rides we have a little club in Cranbrook, have a look for us on Facebook, Cranbrook Cycle Club.

Cheers,

Ed

LondonDynaslow | 8 years ago
0 likes

If you can do 70 miles solo, you'll be fine. Just make sure you eat and drink enough on the day, because you can't eat enough pasta the night before to fuel you for 100 miles. Other than that, it totally depends on your aims really, but don't forget to enjoy the spectacle.