Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Has anyone got over their fear of going downhill?

From reading other forum posts, I know that I am not alone in being nervous of going downhill, but I wondered if anyone has actually managed to overcome this issue?  7

I am fairly new to road cycling and with the help of this forum (and the funny anecdotes) have managed to sort out my initial worries over the clipless pedals.  1 I can't seem to get over my fear of going downhill, though - I hang on to the breaks and feel completely embarrassed at how slowly I end up creeping down, especially when I am out with a group.  13

Please don't tell me to just get a grip - I can't!  29

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

57 comments

DanTe | 8 years ago
0 likes

Try going somewhere like Andalucia. Virtually every ride in the interior of 20+ miles involves a 'hill' of some sorts. When over there I can do several loops of say 60 miles with 10,000 feet of climbing with the corresponding descents and see maybe 3-5 cars per ride.
The Tarmac is often slick black silky smooth stuff. Those 2 factors really help.
Apart from being stunning it's great practice and well worth the few hundred quid for the week.
There's no point over here, the descents aren't long enough, the roads are s###e and there's a car on every other corner. I ride occasionally in the Peak District and it's a nightmare. If there's any hint of that dewy greasy road surface then I'm on the go slow..

rjfrussell | 8 years ago
0 likes

i've managed to up my "gotta brake panic" speed from about 30mph to about 40mph. Still pretty rubbish, but much better than it was, and it means most descents are now quite fun.

suggestions-

- really concentrate on relaxing your arms and hands- try to hold the bars as lightly as possible- it helps you remain calm and keeps the bike steadier

- remember to breathe!