Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Wheels

Hi all,

Only just joined - I'm pretty new to the game - I have a Cannondale Synapse 105 disc. Strangely it doesn't roll anywhere near as well as a couple of others on their bikes (understand weight etc would play a part) when just free wheeling down hills, yet there is no rubbing and it's all rolling true and tight.

I'm looking at changing the wheels and have been recommended by few to go for these: Mavic Ksyrium Pro Disc wheelset.

I have seen great reviews, although I have also seen reviews where people slate Mavic and the price so was then unsure.

Please help me choose the right thing for the right price  1

Thanks,
Kieren

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

6 comments

bechdan | 8 years ago
0 likes

I agree regarding wheels wont make much difference, make sure your tires are solid, get a good track pump and get them up to 100psi, you may be surprised.

BBB | 8 years ago
0 likes

It's got nothing to do with the wheels. Upgrading them won't make you noticeably faster both down and uphill. Just ride your bike.

Johnny25 | 8 years ago
0 likes

I'd change the tyres first before the wheels. It's the cheaper option and can make a big difference. Get some Continental GP 4000s2 or similar.

AJ101 | 8 years ago
0 likes

Swap bikes with a friend who is a good descender and see if they go quicker on your bike so you can do a like for like comparison before splashing out.

If you are adamant you want new wheels then we're finding there's some huge discounts across the bike stores on certain wheels (maybe driven by the wiggle move?)

But honestly I'm guessing it's position related too while you get used to the bike so hold fire on any big expenditures before you make sure!

Martyn_K | 8 years ago
0 likes