Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Hey road.cc please help me out by filling in this survey for my cycling infrastructure dissertation.

Hey road.cc users I'm a civil engineering student from Oldham currently studying in Liverpool, and this is my cycling infrastructure dissertation survey.

https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1pFu84yhd7cshVYZR8LiOzLvhlydtdu14kLyCPkZ...

A lot of what my dissertation will be is going to be critiquing the roads in and around Manchester and the planned infrastructure such as Oxford Rd that is currently happening, but also in a much broader sense infrastructure in general across the nation.

I will be forever in your debt and hopefully in years to come will be able to make the roads a safer place for ALL road users.

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

3 comments

Chez_worldwide | 8 years ago
0 likes

Good work, but I hope you're asking for views from other 'groups' of people who ride bikes.

I would hope that most on this forum would be well aware of how to keep themselves as safe as possible, i.e. take the lane when necessary, don't jump lights, don't ride on the pavement. Also, when to ignore ill-conceived and dangerous bike lanes which spit you back into traffic after a few metres.

However, there are other people on bikes who may have different views/ no view at all, e.g. the hi-viz-vest chaps on BSOs with no lights going at 5mph, the people who ride on pavements regardless, those folks on bikes with shopping baskets, no helmets etc. From my experience, these are the ones most likely to ride up the inside of buses or to weave all over the road and therefore may benefit from such infrastructure.