Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Disc Wheelset

Good Afternoon All

Please be gentle with me as I am pretty new to all things road. I am recovering from being hit off my ten day old Lynskey Sportive disc at the end of October and have had my second operation. Hopefully on the mend now  1 I was kindly left by the road by whoever hit me. Lovely human being!

I need a new set of wheels and have decided on either the Mavic Ksyrium Disc Wheelset or handbuilt by a very close Friend.

My question is what rim would you choose if you are building them yourself? I was going to use Mavic Open Pro with Sapim spokes but the more research I do the more I dribble and get confused  7

I appreciate I do not need a braking surface but have no objection to having one. I also like the Pacenti SL 23, Velocity Aileron/Aerohead amongst others.

Hub wise I am going to use Chris King R45's and hope this Wheelset will last for years to come!

Ant recommendations or direction is most welcome. Humour also  3

Many thanks,

Gareth

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

10 comments

AndreasHolden | 9 years ago
0 likes

My LBS built up a disc specific wheelset for me last year. Went for Hope hubs, Sapim spokes and Ryde (formerly Rigida) 'disc specific road rims. Strong and very light, not as stiff as I'd like but I am, at 85 kilos, probably a bit heavy for such a light wheelset. Weren't stupid money either.

Jack Osbourne snr | 9 years ago
0 likes

My tuppence worth...

DEFINITELY go handbuilt here.

Open PRO was the automatic choice a few years ago, and I would say still a strong contender for use with rim brakes. However, there is now a very good selection of rims that are better... Particularly with disc use in mind.