Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Halfords

I know a lot of cyclists are stuffy about them. I have used them a way back to get my old Boardman Team Carbon and from the shop nothing but praise for them, the costs and advice, especially what I know now.

Is it really a bad thing we have a mainstream store committed to cycling like they are ? Dont they help to spread the word about our fantastic sport/hobby ?

They would never be a place I go now and the LBS gets my cash (plus wiggle) but for entry level etc hat is wrong with them ?

If you get bad service as I have read then you don;t go again or get your money back.

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

16 comments

Bhachgen | 9 years ago
0 likes

I think to an extent the reputation they have for setting up bikes poorly is a percentages thing. As a Bikeability instructor I probably see an example of a Halfords cock up at least once a fortnight. But I probably see about 30 Halfords bikes in that fortnight as that's where so many families go for their kids bikes. Is one in 30 such a bad percentage and does it compare so badly to smalller volume retailers?

This week's example was a cracker though. Apollo MTB, less than a year old, looked very little used. Stem and both sets of brake blocks were loose. Front brake cable had been wound all the way around the head tube. Rear brake cable was totally frayed at the point where it bolts to the brake caliper. According to the kid it had been back to Halfords 4 times to get problems fixed. Kids aren't always reliable sources but I'd guess it must have been back in at least a couple of times. At least the forks were the right way round though I wonder if they might have originally received the classic Halfords fork setup and it was in rectifying this that the front brake cable ended up how it was.

Judge dreadful | 9 years ago
0 likes